90 Day Challenge: Day 20

“Side by side or miles apart, sisters will always be connected by the heart.”

My sister.

She is younger than me but she is fierce. Loyal. Honest. Caring. Funny and always there for me, even when we’re fighting. She is one of my rocks and can always see a problem from a point of view that I would not have thought of on my own. She is one of the strongest women I know and I could not imagine what my life would be like without her.

Our lives haven’t always been easy but we’ve made it through. Together. A bit battered and bruised but alive. My sister is who helped me the most this time when my demons came calling this past weekend. She sat and listened to me as I spoke and was completely honest with how I was feeling. She never once asked me why I was feeling the way I was feeling or made me feel like I was crazy/less than/worthless/stupid for thinking the way I have been. She didn’t make me feel ashamed to be having the thoughts I have been having. She just listened.

I was able to talk without feeling judged. It was just what I needed and I’m not afraid to admit that she has saved me many times before. It’s been thoughts of her and my brother that have stopped me from harming myself. It’s been the thought of leaving them alone that has steadied my hand and helped pulled me back more times than I’d care to admit.

My Little Thing for day twenty is my little sister. She isn’t so little anymore, just younger but she’s still my baby sister. Without her, I’m sure I wouldn’t be here today to write to you all. So, to my sister, thank you. You have done much more for me than you will ever know.

♥ GoAM

Leave a Reply

